Man there are some weird sayings out there…

So as I’m about to fall asleep last night I’m thinking about some sayings that just really confuse me:

  1. “Jesus take the wheel”: First of all I really don’t think that Jesus ever drove anything… And shouldn’t it be like Dale Earnhardt take the wheel or Jeff Gordon take the wheel. And secondly if you really want a saying about Jesus how bout Jesus take the car or pick up the house…
  2. “If you play your cards right”: Is there an option to play them wrong? Or is it like you have a deck of UNO cards and you need to play UNO with them and not like Solitaire. Wouldn’t it just be common sense to play them right? And if it is like the Game of War card game then there really is no strategy at all.
  3. “So good it will make you slap somebody”: Do feelings of joy make you really that violent? I mean has anyone ever partaken in something so great that their immediate reaction is “O I should really slap someone right now” Doesn’t make any sense.
  4. “That’s like comparing apples to oranges”-Aren’t they both fruits and sort of round? Doesn’t that make them similar?
  5. “Going the whole nine yards”: Now I am a football fan. Doesn’t it take ten yards to get a first down? So if you go the whole nine yards you didn’t get far enough!
  6. And last but not least my favorite: “You can’t have your cake and eat it too”: yes you can in fact if you have cake and don’t eat it: WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?! I thought the purpose of cake was to eat it, Am I missing something?
2 Comments

  1. Being a master of southern colloquialisms I could probably shed some light on a couple of these but I’ll restrain myself to just one ☺ The term the whole nine yards actually refers to buying cement. A standard cement truck carries nine cubic yard of concrete. Thus the questions… “Would you like the whole nine yards?” Hope that helps your conundrum. ☺

  2. Dude, I can’t help you with all of them, but the last one I can. I learned the truth behind the “you can’t have your cake and eat it too: saying from a podcast I listen two. It was quite the ordeal. My wife constantly talked about this mysterious saying and we finally got the solution. I was so grateful, I emailed the show and they responded online. Check it out: http://tinyurl.com/cojh4o
    Here is their response to my email: http://tinyurl.com/coc7dw

    Hope this helps.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

