Practicing Greatness

So today I started reading a book called Practicing Greatness. The first couple lines in the first chapter reminded me of something that really pushed me further in my walk with Christ than anything I can remember.

Mediocrity for Christ is a sin. I remember having this sort of cosmic conflict in my life between Greatness and Humility. That somehow being great was not being humble. It may sound silly but to me as a middle schooler to about a junior in high school I really struggled with this idea. Then I found someone who told me this exact thing. That Christ wanted all of me. He wanted it now and He wanted me to pursue Him fervently and with zeal. I was just overwhelmed to be a part of something much bigger than I had dreamed and gave it all that I had. It was incredible to strive to be great by giving and giving and giving. It changed my life and I will always remember that time in my life as a major step in becoming a leader.

Phillipians 2 talks about just that. Christ gave all that He had and we should do the same. Living like a Great Leader means humility. When James and John were arguing about being the greatest in the kingdom of heaven, did Christ say don’t be great just be normal and blend in and be humble. No! He said those that are last will be first. He didn’t disregard their mission but instead gave them guidance and a direction to lean to.

So this morning I want to tell you to be great. Read Phillipians 2 for a direction and guidance from the Father and be great. The cause is Christ and people that are far from Him. Go after the cause and be great.

1 Comment

  1. Great post. Thanks for the challenge.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

