Children’s Ministry of the Future???

I got an email from a friend today asking what I thought about Children’s Ministry and what it will look like in the next few years. I will just copy what I wrote and really want to know your thoughts:

We are always thinking about this here at Brookwood. I think that a lot of the people are missing the boat on looking for the next program or the next teaching method to really revolutionize Children’s Ministry the way that the Large Group/Small Group setup did in the 80s-90s.

I don’t have an answer for that. But I tend to think something totally different. I think that Children’s Ministry of the future has more to do with equipping kids with the tools to “do” ministry. It is something that student ministries are very good at and on top of that our culture is becoming more and more of a creative culture. Meaning that we create our own content. This trend will be seen very soon through Elementary age kids.

From Greeting, to tech, to drama, and worship. This will begin to become the forefront of Children’s ministries around the country. Kids will begin to shift from “the place I go on Sunday” to “My Church that I am a part of”

We need to be ready to develop and harness their ability to create. There is a big potential for problems because of the way that schools are set up. A lot of them are behind the curve on giving kids a balanced view on gifts and abilities. Academia or physical education seem to be the only outlet. If kids begin the discovery process earlier then it is possible for the school to see more and more problems and more and more kids looking for another outlet for their gifts.

I think that will be the biggest shift. Some others that we might see include doing away with the Large Group/Small Group model altogether. A possible decrease in large events in favor of smaller connection type events. And music that begins to work with Student Ministry in leading The Church in worship.

I hope this answers some questions and maybe will give you a few things to think about. Thanks man for the opportunity to dump on you and give you a few thoughts.

I am so extremely weirded out that God lets me talk about these things. Believe me I thought it would be years before I got to an email like that one. For all of you involved in CM what do you think the future looks like?

4 Comments

  1. Heard this quote in a message given by Rob Bell at Willow Creek about eight years ago: “Any faith community that does not impart its sacred texts to its children is one generation away from extinction.”

    I love relational ministry. I love contemporary worship. I love tech. I love drama. But I think it is time for the “memory verse” to make a comeback in some form. Seriously! I don’t know what form this should take, but I know that we’ve lost something. My kids are in their teens now, they have a really great overview of scripture, but don’t have any particular passages ‘hidden in their hearts.’ We’ve done some great things in our home towards their spiritual growth, but some things happen best on Sunday mornings.

  2. Great Post!!!

    Reminds me to talk about the future with our team!

    Dave

  3. […] in Simpsonville, SC (I copy and pasted this from his site). I love the way he thinks so read this post to get an idea of what ticks in his brain. Looking forward to reading […]

  4. […] I got a follow up comment from paulthinkingoutloud. Go back and read the comment here […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

