Wednesday Wisdom

I am going a different route with this post today. First if you aren’t a fan of dead animals then I would ask you to stop reading this post right now. This was your warning. Yesterday a great friend of ours was working in the yard in the middle of the afternoon. He decided to just chill out in his deer stand and after some time. A 10 point 230 lb deer came into perfect view and became a new trophy for Mr. Tim Mackey. First of all let me tell you something about Tim. He loves people and could probably give Fellowship One a run for its money for the amount of info that it can hold about other people. He loves others passionately and is an incredible friend. Now hauling a deer out of the woods at 1 in the afternoon was incredibly fun. But it was way more fun because of who we got to help in the process.

I had an idea to write a book. I am scared to give the title because someone might take it but I think that it is important to today’s post. It was gonna be called “Fierce Lover” It was going to be sort of a look at how Jesus calls us to love others. My wife and I were in a long distance relationship (real long distance) 17 hour flight from where I lived. It was incredibly hard but proved our love even more real and true. It was an incredible time of growth for us and neither of us would change it for the world.

Now in the midst of marriage and ministry I am truly beginning to understand what a Fierce Lover our Savior is. See Jesus Christ put love at the forefront of our brains when He gave us the two commandments “Love God with absolutely everything, and love others the way that God intends them to be loved” (J.C. translation)

I want to tell you that taking someone to lunch may not get it done. But helping them pull out a 230 lb deer from the woods might. A card might not do it but visiting them when their family is in the hospital might. In the church I feel like alot of the stuff that we do is not fierce, its weak. Why can’t we be fierce in the way we love? Why can’t the church lead the way in Fierce Lovers?

If you’ve got a story of Fierce Love, I would absolutely love to hear it.

2 Comments

  1. Nice buck! Congrats.

  2. Tim is awesome and the guy can cook! Sorry, didn’t have a Fierce Love story, I just wanted to give a shout out to Tim…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

