Wednesday Wisdom

So I have been playing basketball for the last two weeks and have been loving it. I absolutely love basketball. The running the athleticism. The constant thinking and improv on the run. You must continue to think and change and be flexible. The experience of basketball for me is incredible. I just love being on the court in the middle of the action. I hate to sit on the bench. Absolutely hate it. I hate sitting on the bench more than losing. Now in no way am I gifted at basketball but I absolutely want to be out there in the middle of the action.

My question is how can people sit on the bench in life? How can people not really live life? Not spend time with those they love, not do something they enjoy everyday, and really make knowing and connecting with others a priority in their life. How can people come to church everyweek and not serve a God that has given them so much? This isn’t a guilt trip post, but instead a post about how in the world could they miss the blessings from serving. Here are some things that I have experienced from being in the game:

  • A student ministry grow from about 50 to 200 in less than a year.
  • Countless number of people give their life to Christ.
  • Volunteers leave their home and jobs to follow God’s plan.
  • I followed God on a journey to SC with no job.
  • God gave me a job at a church working with kids.
  • Seeing 300 kids praise God like I have never imagined at the same time.
  • Seeing my boss slimed with over 40 gallons of slime.
  • Being in a long distance relationship with a girl that followed God to Argentina for a year for Bible School.
  • Been on a mission trip to Argentina.
  • Strengthened relationships with my family.
  • Real friends that have my back and my front and the sides as well.
  • Love-true love
  • God’s blessings everywhere.

Would some of these things happen not being in the game… maybe. But why in the world would you chance it? If you aren’t in the middle of God’s work right now. I am praying that if you read this blog you will get in on it immediately. It’s time to step up to the plate and do what God has called you to do.

And if you want to live your life by something it should be this verse.

Matthew 22:37-39

I would love to hear some stories from you getting in the game of service for God.

2 Comments

  1. did you see the girl while you were in argetina ?

  2. well she went to argentina for word of life for a year. I saw her on her one semester break. and then after that we would see each other about once a month or two months. But only once while she was at Word of Life in Argentina.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

