Backsliding?

You know in searching for this job and really myself through this search I had some questions that I needed answered (most of which still are not however) and one of them is this: Can Christians backslide? Is backsliding an actual thing or just for people that are not saved to reassure themselves that they are ok? Is it possible?

Why do i want to know the answer? Well for a couple of reasons

  1. I’ve always been curious
  2. I felt like God wasn’t speaking to me. And frankly, it was frustrating. I am just not sure how to explain this but me and Jeff had the discussion about just not “feeling” it sometimes. I know that feelings aren’t what’s important but just another reason to understand why.
  3. To more clearly understand what we believe about salvation

And so I direct the question to you before I give my response.

Can Christians backslide?

3 Comments

  1. Hey man that site was funny. I will comment more on this blog but I am at work right now and do not have a lot of time.
    I love you bro.

  2. Hey!!!!!!!!!! WEll,I have pondered this question many times. I have come to the conclusion of this so far unless you change my mind. You can backslide as The prodigal Son did. However, Some people think that they lose their salvation in the process. I believe you can’t lose your salvation because God writes your name in the book of life and doesn’t erase it over and over. In the same respect I believe one has to truly have Christ in their heart. Meaning living for Christ. Therefore the desire to be more like Christ is there. You make be led away from him but you will be so miserable that you can only return. Not be happy in the sinful life. I hope this makes sense seeing that it is 1 in the morning,,, for an old gal that is LATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I came back to reply and Brenda has said it all. Which I very much appreciate. The only thing I could possibly add are these verses from 1 John
    2:24The one who says, ” I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him;
    2:3By this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments

    The Bible never teaches that a true believer can continually be carnal, however it also says in 1 John that he who says he has no sin is not a believer also. You are shown to be truly born again if, as a style of life, you live a life that reflects His character.

    Backsliding is a very misleading word. We sin, yes, but we have been freed from the bondage of sin.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

